Friday, November 10, 2017

Solomon, Grunch, Page elected to Boyne City Commission

Boyne City voters elected Dean Solomon, Ron Grunch and Sally Page to the City Commission, and the regional school enhancement millage passed in the November 7th election. Grunch, an 18-year commission veteran, was reelected, and Solomon and Page will begin serving their first terms next Tuesday, Nov. 14th, at 7 p.m. Incumbents Laura Sansom and Gene Towne decided not to run for reelection, opening the opportunity for Solomon and Page. Solomon is the recently retired head of the Boyne City MSU Extension office and has lived in the city since 2006. Page served as office administrator for the Emmet County Prosecutor's Office for 25 years before moving to Boyne City in 2004 to be closer to her children, including Liz Glass, co-owner of Lake Street Market.
The unofficial vote totals were: Dean Solomon - 368, Ron Grunch - 367, Sally Page - 315, Andy Smith - 206, Chad Culver - 178.  News-Review story.
> Voters also cast their approval for the Charlevoix-Emmet Intermediate School District's regional enhancement millage. Unofficial results show the proposal passing in Emmet, Charlevoix and northern Antrim counties, with a combined total of 5,648 yes votes (56.7%) and 4,324 no votes for all three areas.

No comments:

Post a Comment